License Suspension Timeframes By Crime in Arizona

Criminal convictions in Arizona can come with numerous consequences, one of which could be having your driver’s license suspended. Taking away a defendant’s driving privileges is a common way for the courts to penalize certain crimes. It is also a method used by the Motor Vehicle Department to exact administrative penalties against a driver for certain moving violations. The length of time your driver’s license will be suspended depends on the offense.

How Long Will Your License Be Suspended?

Driver’s license suspension or revocation in Arizona can arise from administrative action as well as a sentence passed down through the criminal courts. The length of the license suspension will depend on the type and severity of the offense, as well as whether this is the individual’s first conviction or if he or she has a prior criminal history. 

License suspension timeframes for common offenses in Arizona include:

  • 30 days: aggressive driving
  • 90 days: driving under the influence (DUI)
  • 3 months: accumulating 13 to 17 points on your license in 12 months
  • 6 months: accumulating 18 to 23 points on your license in 12 months
  • 1 year: accumulating 24 or more points on your license in 12 months
  • 1 year: aggravated DUI
  • 1 year: refusing a breathalyzer test (admin per se suspension)
  • 2 years: refusing a breathalyzer test more than once in the prior 84 months
  • Until the person appears: failing to appear in court

In addition, some offenses can result in the revocation of a driver’s license. Unlike a suspension, a driver will have to reapply for a license after a revocation period ends. A driver’s license may be revoked if an individual receives two or more DUI convictions or commits other major driving offenses (such as a hit-and-run) within seven years.

Consequences of Driving on a Suspended License in Arizona

If you violate the law by driving on a suspended license, this could result in serious penalties and consequences. A conviction for driving on a suspended, revoked, canceled or refused license in Arizona is a class 1 misdemeanor that can come with possible punishments of up to six months in jail, three years of probation, vehicle impoundment and up to $2,500 in fines plus surcharges. Having prior convictions for driving on a suspended license increases the chances of prosecutors seeking jail time.

What to Do if Your License Gets Suspended in Arizona

Having your driver’s license suspended for any amount of time can be extremely inconvenient. For example, it could lead to the loss of your job if you drive for work, such as if you are a commercial driver or delivery driver. Being unable to drive could also interfere with your relationships and daily life, including custody arrangements with your children.

The best-case scenario for a driver is to avoid having a license suspended to begin with. This may be possible with an appeal filed to the Arizona License Appeal Board within 10 working days of the suspension notice. Your lawyer can request an appeal by filing the required written notice with the City Clerk. Then, your lawyer can represent you during the hearing to defend you against the allegations being made in an effort to prevent driver’s license suspension.

If avoiding license suspension is not possible, a lawyer can still help you in other ways. One example is requesting a restricted or probationary driver’s license, which could allow you to drive to certain places, such as your job. A lawyer can also help you take the steps necessary to reinstate your license after the mandatory period of suspension or revocation has ended.

For more information about driver’s license suspensions in Arizona, contact Corso Law Group to request a free legal consultation.

Award Logo
Award Logo
Award Logo
Award Logo
Award Logo