Arizona DUI Lawyers Corso Law Group Gives Back This Thanksgiving with Turkey Giveaway

Corso Law Group is giving away free turkeys in November on its Facebook page to give thanks to its fans and remind everyone to drive responsibly this holiday season.

“We consider ourselves a part of the community and enjoy opportunities to give back,” said Christopher P. Corso of Corso Law Group. “And besides, who couldn’t use a free turkey?”

From Nov. 1 through Nov. 22, the Scottsdale law firm will give away a turkey per day to Arizona residents who first “like” the company’s Facebook page, and then post a comment.Arizona's Criminal Defense Attorneys

Arizona residents are eligible to enter once per day but can only win one turkey. Find the Corso Law Group page at

In addition to entering the contest, Facebook visitors will also find helpful legal information on the Corso Law Group page.

“Thanksgiving is an important time for reconnecting with family and it’s also an extremely dangerous time because of drunk drivers,” Corso said. “Few people know that Thanksgiving is the deadliest holiday of the year when it comes to drunk driving.”

According to a 2009 Forbes magazine study, an average of 401 people die each year on New Year’s Day, the fifth worst holiday for drunk driving. The worst is Thanksgiving, with an average of 567 deaths each year.

The winter holiday season continues to be a dangerous time for driving.

During the six weeks between Thanksgiving and New Year’s Eve, nearly 4,400 people in Arizona were arrested on suspicion of drunken driving in 2013, The Arizona Republic said.

On average, that means more than 730 DUI arrests were made each week starting on Thanksgiving.

The Arizona Governor’s Office team of officers participating in the holiday crackdown found that of the 4,371 arrests, 1,098 were extreme DUIs, 450 were aggravated DUIs, 934 were drug-related DUIs, and the average blood-alcohol content was 0.15 percent.

A national six-year study between 2006 and 2011 conducted by The National Safety Council (NSC) reports that traffic deaths around Thanksgiving accounted for nearly 15% of all vehicle-related fatalities in November.

In 2013, the NSC estimated 436 traffic-related Thanksgiving fatalities.

Rhude and his law partner Christopher Corso know from experience the Arizona DUI problems that can arise during the Thanksgiving weekend. Both attorneys previously prosecuted DUIs, DWIs and OUIs for the Maricopa County Attorney’s Office. Combined, Corso Law Group have handled more than 15,000 DUI cases as prosecutors and defense attorneys.

Arizona law requires that any person found guilty of drinking and driving (even a first offense) serve jail time. And DUI convictions can also include extensive fines up to $2,500, suspension of driving privileges and the installation of an ignition interlock device – even for first offenders.

“DUI is a serious offense and something that no person should take lightly,” Corso said. “When you’re armed with the facts, it makes it even more vital that you have a designated driver if you plan on drinking – even on Thanksgiving.”

In addition to DUI defense, Corso Law Group handles all criminal defense cases, including domestic violence defense, possession of drugs, felony drug charges, photo radar, criminal speeding, disorderly conduct and marijuana possession.

To schedule a free consultation, please visit or call (480) 471- 4616. Corso Law Group, PLLC is located at 14500 N. Northsight Blvd., Suite 116 in Scottsdale, Arizona, 85260.

Still Fighting Child Abuse Charges, Vikings Running Back Adrian Peterson May Also Face Drug Charges After Admission

Minnesota Vikings running back Adrian Peterson may face possible bond revocation and jail time as prosecutors allege he admitted to using marijuana, which violates the bail conditions of his felony child abuse charge.

Peterson was indicted on charges of negligent injury to a child by a grand jury in May for hitting his son, who normally lives with his mother, with a switch (thin wooden stick) during his stay at Peterson’s home north of Houston, Fox Sports said.

Adrian Peterson

Police have not released details about the case, CNN said, but Peterson did turn himself in and was released Sept. 12 on a $15,000 bond with one of the conditions including mandatory drug testing.

The Washington Post reports that documents from TMZ and Fox Houston say that Peterson admitted to an employee of the drug testing company Wednesday while giving a urine sample that he had “smoked a little weed,” but it is unclear whether he failed the test.

Montgomery County District Attorney Brett Ligon asked the primary judge in the case, Kelly Case, to arrest Peterson again and revoke his bond for using drugs and violating the conditions of his bail.

Judge Case may raise the bond amount or rearrest Peterson and require him to pay another bond, but it is unclear when Ligon’s request against Peterson will be ruled on because he has also made a request for Case to recuse himself after he made comments that the lead prosecutors in the case were “media whores,” The Washington Post said.

Rusty Hardin, Peterson’s attorney, said in a statement that Ligon’s motion to revoke Peterson’s bond will come up only when it’s known which judge will hear the case, and the defense will respond at that time, Fox Sports said.

Currently, Peterson remains free on bond. He was deactivated by the Vikings on Sept. 17 and continues to receive his full $11.75 million salary although he can not participate in any team activities.

Peterson is considered one of the best running backs in the NFL, according to CNN, and signed a seven-year contract with the Vikings worth more than $100 million in 2011.

Peterson has defended himself saying that he’s “not a perfect parent, but I am, without a doubt, not a child abuser,” CNN reports. Hardin said his client didn’t mean to harm his son, but was disciplining him like “he experienced as a child growing up in East Texas.

Statute of limitations keeps open decades-old molestation case involving actor Stephen Collins

Stephen Collins, the pastor father on the TV show “7th Heaven,” faces possible child molestation charges after recordings of the actor admitting to three instances of inappropriate behavior with young girls during a therapy session were released on Oct. 6.

And while some of the allegations are more than 40 years old, the popular actor could still face charges because of how the statute of limitations is applied to such cases.Stephen Collins

The allegations could present legal difficulties for Collins, given the fact that his alleged confessions had been taped. TMZ obtained the recordings, which Mark Kaplan, Collins’ attorney, said his estranged wife, actress Faye Grant, must have released since she secretly recorded him and has been using the tape as leverage for money in their divorce case, USA Today reports.

Collins is heard speaking to Grant and to a therapist about exposing himself to three underage girls over the past decade, one of which is suspected by TMZ to be a relative of his first wife, Marjorie Weinman.

Grant told E! News that she recorded the therapy session as part of a request from law enforcement, but was not involved in the release of the tape to the media.

“I woke up today to learn that an extremely private recording I handed over to the authorities in 2012 per their request in connection with a criminal investigation was recently disseminated to the press,” she said.

The Associated Press reports that New York police have an open investigation into allegations that Collins molested a 14-year-old girl in 1972. Police spokesman Stephen David said the complaint was filed in 2012, and remains open although no charges have been filed, according to USA Today.

But while decades have passed since the molestation, Collins may still face charges depending on the statute of limitations surrounding the incident. Since authorities consider the actual crime date to begin when the case is reported, not when it occurs, Collins could face charges for a 42-year-old crime. For example, TMZ reports that the statute of limitations runs from the date of the reporting in 2012 on the New York case, not the date of the illegal act occurring in 1972.

Statutes of limitation vary by state, and are set time limits on how long after a civil or criminal act is reported that charges may be pressed and that a state can make prosecutions. For example, in New York, the statute of limitation for personal injury is two years, but there is no time limit for a rape or murder case.

Arizona Issues First Blue Alert After DPS Officer is Shot

After a Department of Public Safety (DPS) officer was shot in the face during a routine traffic stop on October 8, the first Arizona Blue Alert was issued, informing residents and the media of the attack and the five suspects who were still on the loose.

The National Blue Alert System is activated when an officer has been killed or seriously injured. The alert disseminates specific information about suspected offenders statewide, including descriptions of the vehicle, license plate and people involved when officials determine that threats to the public and law enforcement still exist.

Arizona authorities pointed to the system as a vital tool in gathering information in the investigation, stating that the blue alert had led to a tip soon after the alert was issued.

“We got calls from citizens who were out there, and they were paying attention,” Phoenix Police Spokesman James Holmes told the Arizona Republic.

Authorities said they later found the suspects’ vehicle at an abandoned house near 29th Avenue and Pima.

In July, Arizona Governor Jan Brewer signed into law House Bill 2323, making Arizona the 19th state to have a Blue Alert system. In total, 20 states now use a Blue Alert system to inform the public of an attack on an officer, The National Blue Alert System reports.

Arizona’s first blue alert came after an Arizona officer stopped a vehicle with tinted windows at 3:30 a.m. on Oct. 8 near I-17 and McDowell Road. While talking with the passengers, someone inside the vehicle opened fire and shot the officer twice in the face, ABC 15 said.

Two officers were called for backup and were shot at, but not injured, by the suspects who police identified as two men and three women in a blue 2008 Mercury Sable with Kansas license plates.

Read more about this case here.

Police said, according to ABC 15, that the suspects fled the scene, and within 40 minutes, Arizona’s first ever Blue Alert was issued where electronic highway signs around the state administered the alert, listing details of the car.

The injured officer underwent surgery and the hospital reports the 6-year DPS veteran is in stable condition, ABC 15 said.

Police are currently searching for the attackers.